Alpha by Jasinda Wilder

Synopsis :The first time it happened, it seemed like an impossible miracle. Bills were piling up, adding up to more money than I could ever make. Momโ€™s hospital bills. My baby brotherโ€™s tuition. My tuition. Rent. Electricity. All of it on my shoulders. And I had just lost my job. There was no hope, no money in my account, no work to be found. And then, just when I thought all hope was lost, I found an envelope in the mail. No return address. My name on the front, my address. Inside was a check, made out to me, in the amount of ten thousand dollars. Enough to pay the bills and leave me some left over to live on until I found a job. Enough to let me focus on classes. There was no name on the check, just โ€œVRI Inc.,โ€ and a post office box address for somewhere in the city. No hint of identity or reason for the check or anything. No mention of repayment, interest, nothingโ€ฆexcept a single word, on the notes line: โ€œYou.โ€ Just those three letters.

If you receive a mysterious check, for enough money to erase all your worries, would you cash it?

I did.

The next month, I received another check, again from VRI Incorporated. It too contained a single word: โ€œbelong.โ€

A third check, the next month. This time, two words. Four letters. โ€œTo me.โ€

The checks kept coming. The notes stopped. Ten thousand dollars, every month. A girl gets used to that, real quick. It let me pay the bills without going into debt. Let me keep my baby brother in school and Momโ€™s hospice care paid for. How do you turn down what seems like free money, when youโ€™re desperate? You donโ€™t. I didnโ€™t.

And then, after a year, there was a knock on my door. A sleek black limousine sat on the curb in front of my house. A driver stood in front of me, and he spoke six words: โ€œItโ€™s time to pay your debt.โ€

Would you have gotten in?

I did.

It turns out $120,000 doesnโ€™t come free.

Available April 29! Check it out…I will! ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ“–

Leave a Reply

